Stories That Come Alive

Welcome, friends!

What makes the world fantastic? You do! My books are about kids who want to belong, have friends, solve problems, go on adventures, and discover what makes them unique. They’re about kids with amazing ideas—just like you!

 

Stories That Come Alive

Welcome, friend!

What makes the world fantastic? You do! My books are about kids who want to belong, have friends, solve problems, go on adventures, and discover what makes them unique. They’re about kids with amazing ideas—just like you!

Stories That Inspire

When you read, you carry characters and their worlds around with you. Stories can spark your imagination. They can inspire you to be brave, to learn new things, and to make a difference in the world.

Stories That Inspire

When you read, you carry characters and their worlds around with you. Stories can spark your imagination. They can inspire you to be brave, to learn new things, and to make a difference in the world.

The Elephant’s Girl

An elephant never forgets…

But Lexington Willow can’t remember her past.

When she was a toddler, a tornado swept her away from everyone and everything she knew and landed her near an enclosure in a Nebraska zoo, where an elephant named Nyah protected her from the storm. With no trace of her family, Lex grew up at the zoo with her foster father, Roger; her best friend, Fisher; and the wind whispering in her ear.

Now that she’s twelve, Lex is finally old enough to help with the elephants. But during their first training session, Nyah sends her a telepathic image of the woods outside the zoo. Despite the wind’s protests, Lex decides to investigate Nyah’s message and gets wrapped up in an adventure involving ghosts, lost treasure, and a puzzle that might be the key to finding her family.

Can Lex summon the courage to hunt for who she really is—and why the tornado brought her here all those years ago?

The Elephant’s Girl

An elephant never forgets…

But Lexington Willow can’t remember her past.

When she was a toddler, a tornado swept her away from everyone and everything she knew and landed her near an enclosure in a Nebraska zoo, where an elephant named Nyah protected her from the storm. With no trace of her family, Lex grew up at the zoo with her foster father, Roger; her best friend, Fisher; and the wind whispering in her ear.

Now that she’s twelve, Lex is finally old enough to help with the elephants. But during their first training session, Nyah sends her a telepathic image of the woods outside the zoo. Despite the wind’s protests, Lex decides to investigate Nyah’s message and gets wrapped up in an adventure involving ghosts, lost treasure, and a puzzle that might be the key to finding her family.

Can Lex summon the courage to hunt for who she really is—and why the tornado brought her here all those years ago?

My Books

Discover your fantastic!

The Elephant's Girl

A magical adventure about a girl with a mysterious connection with the elephant who saved her life, for fans of Katherine Applegate and Jennifer Holm.

Published May 19, 2020 from Crown Books for Young Readers and Random House Children’s Books.

Available now!

Tips for Magicians

After a magical muse seems to have abandoned a small Utah town, it is up to a grieving boy, his best friends, and a stray dog to find out where it has gone and how to bring it back in this lyrical and hopeful story.

Coming May 18, 2021 from Crown Books for Young Readers and Random House Children’s Books

Available now for preorder!

Fantastic Facts

Here are some fun things about me:

• I’m a musical theater performer.
• I enjoy writing songs and making videos.
• I love elephants, and I’m uncomfortable with snakes. (However, I did let my son have a snake in his room.)
• I broke my front tooth at a rodeo when I was ten.
• My favorite cereal is Fruity Pebbles.
• I’ve lived in, or visited, 33 of the 50 United States.
• I have two dads–my birth dad died when I was young and the other adopted me. Both were in the U.S. Armed Forces (Army and Air Force).
• I sometimes slip into the accents of places I’ve lived—especially the South—when I’m speaking.
• I’m a graduate of BYU and The Institute of Children’s Literature.
• I have a miniature railroad with a rideable steam train.
• I play the piano, the flute, and the bass guitar.
• My favorite places to write are in libraries, art museums, the desert, or the mountains.
• My favorite snack is popcorn.
• My favorite dessert is chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.
• I enjoy speaking to kids who like to read and write and imagine the fantastic!

Fantastic Facts

Here are some fun things about me:

• I’m a musical theater performer.
• I enjoy writing songs and making videos.
• I love elephants, and I’m uncomfortable with snakes. (However, I did let my son have a snake in his room.)
• I broke my front tooth at a rodeo when I was ten.
• My favorite cereal is Fruity Pebbles.
• I’ve lived in, or visited, 33 of the 50 United States.
• I have two dads–my birth dad died when I was young and the other adopted me. Both of them were in the U.S. Armed Forces (Army and Air Force).
• I sometimes slip into the accents of places I’ve lived—especially the South—when I’m speaking.
• I’m a graduate of BYU and The Institute of Children’s Literature.
• I have a miniature railroad with a rideable steam train.
• I play the piano, the flute, and the bass guitar.
• My favorite places to write are in libraries, art museums, the desert, or the mountains.
• My favorite snack is popcorn.
• My favorite dessert is chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.
• I enjoy speaking to kids who like to read and write and imagine the fantastic!

Praise for THE ELEPHANT’S GIRL

“Mixing realism, fantasy, and information about elephants, the author presents well-rounded, often mischievous human characters, and the unlikely focal setting of the zoo entices readers to fantasize about living there. Lex’s investigation reveals a puzzle that may contain answers about her past, and readers will eagerly accompany her as she works to crack it.”Booklist

“Poignant…An already engaging tale of life at a zoo turns into a mystery…[and] a bittersweet ending completes the story’s magic and mystery.” Kirkus Reviews

Skillfully paced with just the right amount of tension, this offers a thoughtful look at how our past shapes our present, and how, similarly, memory is shaped by our current circumstances.” Bulletin

“This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo.” –School Library Journal

Praise for The Elephant’s Girl

“Mixing realism, fantasy, and information about elephants, the author presents well-rounded, often mischievous human characters, and the unlikely focal setting of the zoo entices readers to fantasize about living there. Lex’s investigation reveals a puzzle that may contain answers about her past, and readers will eagerly accompany her as she works to crack it.”Booklist

“Poignant…An already engaging tale of life at a zoo turns into a mystery…[and] a bittersweet ending completes the story’s magic and mystery.” Kirkus Reviews

Skillfully paced with just the right amount of tension, this offers a thoughtful look at how our past shapes our present, and how, similarly, memory is shaped by our current circumstances.” Bulletin

“This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo.” –School Library Journal